Skip to Main Content
Femal's Research Links
Copyright Best Practices
This document is a code of best practices that helps educators using media literacy
concepts and techniques to interpret the copyright doctrine of fair use. Fair use
is the right to use copyrighted material without permission or payment under
some circumstances—especially when the cultural or social benefits of the use are
predominant.
CRAAP
Is the information accurate?
Databases / Search Engines
Alpha WPL Databases
Most of these databases require that you enter your 14 digit Woodstock library card number (21567000751234) before accessing.
CIA World Factbook
The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Humanities: National Endowment
Because democracy demands wisdom, NEH serves and strengthens our republic by promoting excellence in the humanities and conveying the lessons of history to all Americans.
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
NEWSELA
Launched in June 2013, Newsela publishes high-interest news articles daily at five levels of complexity for grades 2-12 using Newsela’s proprietary, rapid text-leveling process. Common Core–aligned quizzes attached to articles give educators and parents insight into their students’ reading strengths and weaknesses. Newsela develops nonfiction fluency and critical-thinking skills necessary to master the Common Core standards for informational text.
New York Public Library Digital Image Collection
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
ProCon
THE LEADING SOURCE FOR PROS & CONS OF CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES
Science - bioRXiv
ioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Southern Poverty Law Center
The SPLC is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society. Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the SPLC works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal opportunity will be a reality.
Wolfram Alpha
Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers—
not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.
World Digital Library
The principal objectives of the WDL are to:
Promote international and intercultural understanding;
Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet;
Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences;
Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries.
WPL Databases
Most of these databases require that you enter your 14 digit Woodstock library card number (21567000751234) before accessing.
Citations
Online Writing Lab (OWL) of Purdue
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.
Video: Use the C. A. R. P. system
Research presentation ideas
Animoto
Make great videos, easily. Turn ordinary photos and video clips into stunning, HD videos with Animoto's online video maker.
PowToon
Our greater vision is to effect the way people communicate in a profound way: “If a picture speaks a thousand words, an animation conveys an idea.”
Research Experts
SearchReSearch Blog
A blog about search, search skills, teaching search, learning how to search, learning how to use Google effectively, learning how to do research. It also covers a good deal of sense making and information foraging.
"External links have been included on this page to assist visitors in locating additional resources related to the material on this page. Following these links will take you to material that was not developed by District 200. District 200 is not responsible for other material or information which you might find through these external links, and does not necessarily endorse any product or service which you may find advertised there."
